Apply for a New License
Most programs that care for children must be licensed by the State of Connecticut. Each type of program has different licensing requirements. Family child care homes, group child care homes, child care centers, and youth camps differ based on a variety of factors. Learn the definitions of the types of programs.
We’re here to help! If you have questions or want to file a complaint, don’t hesitate to call us at (860) 500-4450 or (800) 282-6063.
How to get licensed
Step 1: Learn about licensing and child care regulations
Learn more about programs by watching the videos below and reading the statutes and regulations.
- Family child care homes
- Watch a video on opening a family child care home
- Como obtener su Licencia de Cuidar Niños en su Hogar
- Group child care homes and child care centers
- Youth camps
- Read the regulations [PDF]
Step 2: Download your application
- Application for Family Child Care Homes [PDF]
- Application for Group Child Care Homes and Child Care Centers [PDF]
- Application for Youth Camps [PDF]
Step 3: Submit a background check (except for youth camps)
You must submit a background check either at the same time or after you send in your application. Learn more about who needs a background check and how to complete the process.
Step 4: Submit your application
Make your check or money order payable to “Treasurer State of Connecticut.” This fee is non refundable.
|Family Child Care Homes||$40|
|Group Child Care Homes||$250|
|Child Care Centers||$500|
|Non-profit Youth Camps||$315|
|For-profit Youth Camps||$815|
Send your application and payment to:
Office of Early Childhood
Division of Licensing
450 Columbus Blvd.
Hartford, CT 06103
Group child care homes and child care centers need to submit the application at least 60 days prior to the anticipated date of opening. Youth camps will need to submit the application at least 30 days before the camp opens.
Step 5: It’s time for the inspection
Once we process your application and it is complete, a member of our licensing staff will contact you to schedule an inspection.
Once you’re licensed, you can start providing care for children. We conduct annual unannounced inspections to monitor compliance with all statutes and regulations. Licenses for family child care homes, group child care homes, and child care centers need to be renewed every four years. Youth camp licenses need to be renewed annually. We’ll notify you when it’s time to renew.
For additional documents and sample policies, please visit our Forms and Documents pages: