Blue Ribbon Panel on Child Care

The Panel is charged with developing a 5-year strategic plan for a child care system that works for families, providers, and Connecticut’s economy.

Governor Lamont initiated the Blue-Ribbon Panel on Child Care by Executive Order in 2023. The Panel’s strategic plan will:

  • Be actionable and data-driven
  • Prioritize equitable access to early care and education
  • Support families, providers, and the state’s economy

Our goal is to develop an equitable, high-quality, and sustainable system that ensures that every child has a quality educational foundation that will prepare them to grow, learn, and succeed.

Get involved

Review the draft outline of the plan

The original draft outline of the Blue Ribbon Panel on Child Care plan.

Read the updated draft outline of the Blue Ribbon Panel on Child Care plan here.

Based on what Panel members learned from residents, providers, and other stakeholders, the plan maps out a 5-year strategy for improving child care in Connecticut.

Check out our meetings page

Learn how to participate in our next meeting — or review videos, minutes, and other materials from past meetings. Visit the Blue Ribbon Panel meeting page.

Share your opinion

We need the input and support of Connecticut’s families, providers, employers, and community members. Tell us your ideas for improving child care in Connecticut on our feedback page.

Spread the word

Help others learn about our work and get involved.
• Flyer for parents (English) (Haitian) (Portuguese) (Spanish)
• Flyer for professionals (English)

2023 Blue Ribbon Panel timeline

Panel meets to initiate the planning process

Panel meets monthly

Review to assess proposed plan contents

Review of the draft plan — which will be extensive to ensure broad-based feedback

Panel submits the final plan

Panel members

Panel members are parents, early childhood education experts, business leaders, higher education, public school, and child care and education providers and legislators.

  • Senator Eric Berthel
  • Audette Bisaillon
  • Emily Byrne
  • Shawn Coyne
  • Representative Jeffrey Currey
  • Chris DiPentima
  • Jamie Eden
  • Dr. Monette Ferguson
  • Diana Jepsen
  • Dr. William Johnson
  • Katherine Lantigua
  • Courtney Larkin
  • Karen Lott
  • Althea Marshall-Brooks
  • Representative Kathleen McCarty
  • Senator Douglas McCrory
  • Garrett Moran
  • Kailyn Nadeau
  • Fran Rabinowitz
  • Jessica Sager
  • Melissa Turner
  • Carmelita Valencia-Daye
  • Maria Del Pilar Vargas

Learn about the advisory groups that helped inform our approach and work.

Last updated September 20, 2023